Baby Steps – Women, the Hajib and Islam

As-salamu alaykum!

In learning not to waste time, I am seeking knowledge.

Many years ago, I went to University and graduated.  It could very well be a lifetime ago for some people.  Then I had the University of Life.  I thought that would be enough but it is not.  Sometimes I feel quite overwhelmed with what I think I need to know.

A friend has told me to take it slow.  One step at a time.

And I pray to Allah, “O my Lord! Increase me in knowledge”.

The Internet is an amazing thing, if used wisely.

I can tell you that I have had many adventures on the Internet.  Some not so nice.  Some very nice.  It is a tool to be used.

And finally, I am using it to better myself.  Not something to entertain myself with.  That makes for wasting time.  Take it from me, from someone who knows about wasting time.  Do not get lost in the Internet.  There are many traps.  But for knowledge about Islam, I am finding it very helpful.

What would be ideal is if I lived near a Mosque and could meet Muslim people.  At present, that is not the case.  So I have been on You Tube and have to sort out what to watch.  I am still struggling with how to pray properly.  But that is another story for a later time.

I have a friend who has made some suggestions and I am taking it from there, listening to speakers and I pray that I do not go astray, Inshallah.

So I put in search, the burning tags that are first on my mind.  Women and Islam.

I found this video very enlightening and helpful.   There is a sadness that I did not have this information earlier in my life.  Maybe my life would have been different.  But I have it now and Allah knows best.  And I am thankful I am learning it now.  I do this to be pleasing to Allah, not for my own edification.

Leave a Reply

