Iblis (Satan) – The first Racist

In the name of GOD, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

[7:10] We have established you on earth, and we have provided for you the means of support therein. Rarely are you appreciative.

[7:11] We created you, then we shaped you, then we said to the angels, “Fall prostrate before Adam.” They fell prostrate, except Iblees (Satan); he was not with the prostrators.

[7:12] He said, “What prevented you from prostrating when I ordered you?” He said, “I am better than he; You created me from fire, and created him from mud.”

[7:13] He said, “Therefore, you must go down, for you are not to be arrogant here. Get out; you are debased.”

[7:14] He said, “Grant me a respite, until the Day of Resurrection.”

[7:15] He said, “You are granted a respite.”

[7:16] He said, “Since You have willed that I go astray,* I will skulk for them on Your straight path
__________________________________________________ _____________________

[15:26] We created the human being from aged mud, like the potter’s clay.

[15:27] As for the jinns, we created them, before that, from blazing fire.

[15:28] Your Lord said to the angels, “I am creating a human being from aged mud, like the potter’s clay.

[15:29] “Once I perfect him, and blow into him from My spirit, you shall fall prostrate before him.”

[15:30] The angels fell prostrate; all of them,

[15:31] except Iblis (Satan). He refused to be with the prostrators.

[15:32] He said, “O Iblis (Satan), why are you not with the prostrators?”

[15:33] He said, “I am not to prostrate before a human being, whom You created from aged mud, like the potter’s clay.”

[15:34] He said, “Therefore, you must get out; you are banished.

[15:35] “You have incurred My condemnation until the Day of Judgment.”

Racism, I have always found since I am a child, to be quite puzzling and abhorrent. Not normal. Ugly and degrading to the perpetrator and the victim.

I am taking a class on the Mission of the Prophets and we are studying the creation of man and the Prophet Adam. Very good stuff. And the teacher mentioned it in his notes and it really stood out.

He said, My Lord, since You made me go astray, I swear that I shall beautify for them (evils) on the earth, and shall lead all of them astray,
except those of Your servants from among them who are chosen (by You).
Quran 15:38-39

So racism is one of those things that Iblis beautifies for us for it to exist in the world to such a degree. It is insidious and undercurrent in many instances so much so that Allah speaks about it to us in the Quran 49:13.

O mankind, We have created you from a male and a female, and made you into races and tribes, so that you may identify one another. Surely the noblest of you, in Allah‘s sight, is the one who is most pious of you. Surely Allah is All-Knowing, All-Aware.

Subhana Allah!

The Quran is such a Mercy to us. The more I learn, even at this slow pace, the more it just makes me weep with the knowledge that Allah (swt) gave us this book of guidance.

Iblis will use every trick in the book to get us off the right path to Allah (swt) and we have to use just as much effort to be resistant to it. But first we have to recognize it.

Leave a Reply

